BEFORE THE OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
IN THE MATTER OF ALLEGED VIOLATIONS OF ) CAUSE NO. 1V
THE RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE COLORADO )
OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION BY )  ORDER NO. 1V-
AUS-TEX EXPLORATION, FREEMONT COUNTY, ) DOCKET NO. 1208-OV-10
COLORADO )

NOTICE OF ORDER FINDING VIOLATION HEARING

TO ALL INTERESTED PARTIES AND TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

Pursuant to Rule 522.c., the Colorado Qil and Gas Conservation Commission
(“Commission” or “COGCC”) Staff will apply to the Commission on August 20, 2012, for an Order
Finding Violation (“OFV") against AUS-TEX EXPLORATION (Aus-Tex) (Operator No. 10412).

Pathfinder #C 11-12 1 Pad

On April 20, 2012, Aus-Tex applied for two Form 2's (400274287 and 400274328)
and a Form 2A (Doc # 400274302) for its Pathfinder #C 11-12 1 location in the NW V2 NW ¥,
Section 12, Township 20 South, Range 70 West, 6™ P.M., Freemont County.

On May 31, 2012 Commission Staff approved the requested Form 2A for the
Pathfinder #C 11-12 1 location with the following Condition of Approval:

Provide notice to COGCC 48-hours prior to commencement of construction activities
via form 42."

On June 5, 2012, Aus-Tex commenced construction at the Pathfinder #C 11-12 1
location.

On June 11, 2012, Staff received an anonymous complaint concerning dust and
inadequate stormwater Best Management Practices (BMP’s) the Pathfinder #C 11-12 1 location.
Field Staff conducted an inspection of the site the same day, and confirmed that construction was
occurring at the site

On June 11, 2012, Aus-Tex provided Notice to Commission Staff, through a Form 42,
stating that Construction had begun on June 7, 2012. This Notice came six days after Aus-Tex
commenced construction activities on the location. This is a violation of the Form 2A Condition of
Approval that Aus-Tex Provide notice to COGCC 48-hours prior to commencement of construction
activities by a Form 42.

A failure to comply with a permit Condition of Approval is a violation of § 34-60-121(1)
C.R.S.

On July 18, 2012, COGCC Staff issued Notice of Alleged Violation (“NOAV") No.
2003356556 to Aus-Tex for its operations at the Pathfinder #C 11-12 1 Pad for failure to comply
with the above referenced Condition of Approval for the Form 2A and violation of § 34-60-121(1)
C.R.S.

Section 34-60-121 C.R.S. specifies a base fine of $1,000 per day for permit
violations, with a maximum fine of $10,000 for violations not resulting insignificant waste of oil and
gas resources, damage to correlative rights, or does not result in a significant adverse impact on
public health, safety or welfare. Staff alleges the violation lasted six days. The Staff calculation of
the base fine is thus $6,000.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, pursuant to: 1) the general jurisdiction granted to the
Oil and Gas Conservation Commission of the State of Colorado (Commission) under § 34-60-105
C.R.S.; 2) specific powers granted pursuant to § 34-60-106 C.R.S.; 3) the Colorado Administrative
Procedures Act at § 24-4-105 C.R.S.; and 4) the Commission’s Series 500 Rules at 2CCR 404-1,
that the Commission has scheduled the above-entitled matter for hearing on:

Date: Monday, August 20, 2012
Tuesday, August 21, 2012



Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: COGCC Offices
1120 Lincoln Street, Suite 801
Denver, Colorado 80203

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if any party requires special
accommodations as a result of a disability for this hearing, please contact Margaret Humecki at
(303) 894-2100 ext. 5139, prior to the hearing and arrangements will be made.

Pursuant to said hearing in the above-entitled matter at the time and place aforesaid,
or at any adjourned meeting, the Commission will enter such orders as it deems appropriate to
protect the health, safety and welfare of the public and to prevent the waste of oil and gas, either or
both, in the operations of said field, and to carry out the purposes of the statute.

In accordance with Rule 509., any interested party desiring to protest the
granting of the application or to intervene on the application should file with the
Commission a written protest or intervention no later than August 6, 2012, briefly stating
the basis of the protest or intervention. Such interested party shall, at the same time, serve a
copy of the protest or intervention to the person filing the application. An original and 13 copies
shall be filed with the Commission. Anyone who files a protest or intervention must be able to
participate in a prehearing conference during the week of August 6, 2012. Pursuant to Rule
503.g., if a party who has received notice under Rule 503.b. wishes to receive further pleadings in
the above-referenced matter, that party must file a protest or intervention in accordance with these
rules.

IN THE NAME OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION
OF THE $A. F COLORADO

By

7

Robért J/Ffick, Secretary

Dated at Suite 801

1120 Lincoln Street
Denver, Colorado 80203
July 18, 2012
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