
BEFORE THE OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

  
IN THE MATTER OF ALLEGED VIOLATIONS OF THE RULES 
AND REGULATIONS OF THE COLORADO OIL AND GAS 
CONSERVATION COMMISSION BY PIONEER NATURAL 
RESOURCES USA, INC., LAS ANIMAS COUNTY, COLORADO 

) 
) 
) 
) 

CAUSE NO. 1V 
 
DOCKET NO. 1011-OV-10 

 

 
NOTICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER BY CONSENT HEARING 

On February 8, 2007, the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission 
(“COGCC” or “Commission”) approved an Application for Permit-to-Drill (“APD”), submitted by 
Pioneer Natural Resources USA, Inc. (“Pioneer”) for the Bantini 11-25TR Well (API #05-071-
09195) (the “Well”), which is located in the NW¼ NW¼ of Section 25, Township 32 South, Range 
66 West, 6th P.M. 

 
On February 7, 2008, the original APD expired.  On February 27, 2008, shortly after 

the expiration of the original APD, Pioneer re-filed an APD for the Well, which was approved by the 
COGCC on April 7, 2008. 

 
On March 12, 2008, between the expiration of the original APD, and the approval of 

the re-filed APD, Pioneer drilled the Well.  COGCC Staff became aware of the issue when the 
drilling completion report was submitted. 

 
On August 20, 2008, COGCC Staff issued Notice of Alleged Violation (“NOAV”) 

#200193979 to Pioneer for commencing operations on the Well without a valid permit.  The NOAV 
alleged that Pioneer had violated Rule 303.a. and required them to explain the reason for the 
violation and the procedures that would be implemented to prevent future violations.    
 

On September 10, 2008, Pioneer responded to the NOAV, explaining that a clerical 
error and faulty paperwork caused the violation.  They also detailed procedures to be implemented 
to prevent future violations, including requiring that no well be spud unless the Foreman has a 
copy of the permit to drill on his desk. 
 

Rule 523. specifies a base fine of One Thousand dollars ($1,000) for each day of 
violation of Rule 303.  Rule 523.a.(3) specifies that “the maximum penalty for any single violation 
shall not exceed Ten Thousand dollars ($10,000) regardless of the number of days of such 
violation,” unless the violation results in significant waste of oil and gas resources, damage to 
correlative rights, or a significant adverse impact on public health, safety or welfare or the 
environment. 

Pioneer should be found in violation of Rule 303.a., as described herein, and that the 
parties have agreed to an adjusted fine of Five Thousand dollars ($5,000), which takes into 
consideration the mitigation factor that Pioneer has demonstrated a history of compliance with 
COGCC rules, regulations and orders and instituted several new procedures to prevent these 
types of violations from recurring in their future operations 

 
 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, that the Oil and Gas Conservation Commission of the 

State of Colorado, pursuant to the above, has scheduled the above-entitled matter for hearing on: 
 

Date: Monday, November 29, 2010 
 Tuesday, November 30, 2010 
 
Time: 9:00 a.m. 
 
Place: Suite 801, The Chancery Building 
 1120 Lincoln Street 
 Denver, Colorado 80203 

  
  In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if any party requires special 
accommodations as a result of a disability for this hearing, please contact Margaret Humecki at 
(303) 894-2100 ext. 5139, prior to the hearing and arrangements will be made. 
 
  Pursuant to said hearing in the above-entitled matter at the time and place aforesaid, 
or at any adjourned meeting, the Commission will enter such orders as it deems appropriate to 
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protect the health, safety and welfare of the public and to prevent the waste of oil and gas, either or 
both, in the operations of said field, and to carry out the purposes of the statute. 
   
  In accordance with Rule 509., any interested party desiring to protest the 
granting of the application or to intervene on the application should file with the 
Commission a written protest or intervention no later than November 12, 2010, briefly 
stating the basis of the protest or intervention.  Such interested party shall, at the same time, 
serve a copy of the protest or intervention to the person filing the application.  An original and 13 
copies shall be filed with the Commission.  Anyone who files a protest or intervention must be 
able to participate in a prehearing conference during the week of November 15, 2010.  
Pursuant to Rule 503.g., if a party who has received notice under Rule 503.b. wishes to receive 
further pleadings in the above-referenced matter, that party must file a protest or intervention in 
accordance with these rules. 
 
 IN THE NAME OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 
 
  OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION 
  OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 
 
 
  By  
  Carol Harmon, Secretary 
 
Dated at Suite 801 
1120 Lincoln Street 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
October 27, 2010 

Pioneer Representative Address of Record: 
Dave Holland 
Pioneer Natural Resources USA, Inc. 
1401 Seventeenth Street, Suite 1200 
Denver, CO  80202 
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